Columbia, North Carolina - Honoring Our Past, Designing Our Future
Tyrrell County Fire Department

    The Tyrrell Fire Department is an incorporated, all-volunteer organization that contracts with the Town of Columbia for fire protection services.  The 60 member department has one main station located in the Town of Columbia with five sub-stations located throughout Tyrrell County.  The members are required to attend 36 hours of training per year. 

   The Department is managed

by Fire Chief Johnny Spencer and four Assistant Chiefs.  The chief is elected by the members and the assistants are appointed by the chief.  A nine-member Board of Directors oversees the business management of the department.

     Because of the contract with the Town of Columbia,  the fire rating is six which affords lower insurance rates for the town residents. 

Home | Government | Services | Frequently Asked Questions | Community Calendar | News | Tourism | Helpful Links | Web Site Map | MEDIA RELEASE : SCUPPERNONG RIVER FESTIVAL | Contact Us
Government Websites by Catalis
Printer-friendly Version